Page 1 of 1

MODIS-Aqua Data in Land

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 5:34 am America/New_York
by alakes
I want to get Aerosol data over land, from MODIS-Aqua. I unchecked Landmask option in L2Gen but it did not worked.:confused::confused:
Can any body help??

Thanks in Advance..

MODIS-Aqua Data in Land

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:09 am America/New_York
by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
Not using l2gen.  The atmospheric correction algorithm is designed to work over the ocean.   A primary assumption is that the signal in the NIR bands is entirely due to the atmosphere (or the portion from the surface - water surface - can be estimated and removed).  This is not the case over land, as there is a strong (and varying) signal in the NIR.
There's an entire discipline devoted to atmospheric retrievals (including over land)....we're not it.

Regards,
Sean

MODIS-Aqua Data in Land

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:53 pm America/New_York
by alakes
Thanks Sean..