converting Dimensions

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
kunal.bali9
Answers: 0

converting Dimensions

by kunal.bali9 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:56 am America/New_York

Hello,

I have a file with filename MAIACTAOT.h00v02.20000570505.hdf, having the dimensions as

YDim = 1200;
        XDim = 1200;
The data is only of Indian region. But I don't know the exact coordinates.
Now I need to convert into the latitude and Longitude coordinates. Could anyone please let me know that how can I do that?
please let me know step by step because I am new in SeaDas.

Thank You

Regards
Kunal Bali

Tags:

gfireman

converting Dimensions

by gfireman » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:14 pm America/New_York

Where did you get this file?  Doesn't look like one of ours.
The "h00v02" part of the filename suggests it's in a sinusoidal tile grid, as described here.  Except tile "h00v02" doesn't exist, over India or anywhere on the planet.

kunal.bali9

converting Dimensions

by kunal.bali9 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:18 am America/New_York

Thanks for the reply.
Somebody has created the 1km aerosol data from MODIS. So, we have collected the data from him (of Indian region). But there is no any proper documentation regarding those file format. I could send one sample file but here, I am not able to attach the file with size more than 1 MB. I have a file with a size of between 1 to 2 MB.

gnwiii
Answers: 2

converting Dimensions

by gnwiii » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:30 am America/New_York

Have you tried compressing the hdf files (e.g., using bzip2)?  That may get you below 1MB.  if not, it would be useful to know if you use SeaDAS (6 or 7) or some other software to work with the data.

Several types of files often use the .hdf extension.  "file MAIACTAOT.h00v02.20000570505.hdf may give:  "Hierarchical Data Format (version 4) data" or "Hierarchical Data Format (version 5) data".  If you are lucky there may be metadata that mentions the map projection details.