modis_geogen errors

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
Post Reply
khyde
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:01 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

modis_geogen errors

by khyde » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:21 pm America/New_York

Hello,

I am having problems creating geolocation files and was hoping you can help me out.  In the LogStatus file, I'm seeing several getMODISfileinfo errors.  I run update_luts daily so my leapsec and utcpole files are current (June 18th and July 2nd respectively).  (I even deleted the files and updated them just in case one of them was corrupt).  The odd thing is that some files will process successfully, but I have a handful that routinely have the same error.  Do you have any suggestions of what could be wrong?  Below is a subset of one of the LogStatus files.

Thanks,
Kim

/data3/swdev/V2016.2/build/src/geogen_modis/GEO_location_main.c, main():MODIS_U_GEO_BEGIN:288778279
Mon Jul  9 13:20:46 2018
Seed file: 6.2 Running MOD_PR03 MODIS Geolocation main() 6.2 compiled on Apr 26 2016 at 15:06:00 using makefile 1.1

getMODISfileinfo():MAPI_E_ERR:324431360
ERROR: getMODISfileinfo cannot find file attribute Extract Pixel Offset

getMODISfileinfo():MAPI_E_ERR:324431360
ERROR: getMODISfileinfo cannot find file attribute Extract Pixel Count

getMODISfileinfo():MAPI_E_ERR:324431360
ERROR: getMODISfileinfo cannot find file attribute Extract Line Offset

getMODISfileinfo():MAPI_E_ERR:324431360
ERROR: getMODISfileinfo cannot find file attribute Extract Line Count

PGS_CSC_UTC_UT1Pole():PGS_E_TOOLKIT:3850
error parsing file 'utcpole.dat' (logical ID: 10401), UT1-UTC and polar motion not available

PGS_CSC_UTC_UT1Pole():PGS_E_TOOLKIT - 5417 additional occurrences

PGS_CSC_ECItoECR():PGS_E_TOOLKIT:3850
ERROR: encountered unexpected status value => mnemonic: PGS_E_TOOLKIT, message: error parsing file 'utcpole.dat' (logical ID: 10401), UT1-UTC and polar motion not available

Tags:

khyde
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:01 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

modis_geogen errors

by khyde » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:26 pm America/New_York

I have continued to test modis_Geo.py and in the latest iteration, I noticed that several of the errors are now associated with files in /ocssw/src/, however, I do not have a /src/ directory. I have also seen errors trying to find files in /ocssw/run/.  Could there be legacy information on my system that is looking for the SeaDAS 6.4 directory tree?  If so, where and what should I be looking for?  I completely removed 7.4 before installing 7.5, but that doesn't mean I didn't miss something when doing the update. 

Thanks again,
Kim

home/seadas/ocssw/src/geogen_modis/GEO_location_main.c, main():MODIS_U_GEO_BEGIN:288778279
Mon Jul  9 16:07:32 2018
Seed file: 6.2 Running MOD_PR03 MODIS Geolocation main() 6.2 compiled on May 31 2018 at 12:44:51 using makefile 1.1

PGS_DEM_GetPoint():PGSDEM_E_CANNOT_ACCESS_DATA:118273
Cannot access data... pntLatitude (22.479331) and pntLongitude (-999.000000) are not valid geographic positions for this resolution.

/home/seadas/ocssw/src/geogen_modis/GEO_locate_one_scan.c, GEO_locate_one_scan():MODIS_E_GEO:288779784
Mon Jul  9 16:07:33 2018
Error returned by function GEO_landsea_mask(2709, 20) failed.

PGS_PC_GetPCSDataRetrieveData():PGSPC_W_NO_CONFIG_VALUE:76803
No configuration value exists for logical

PGS_PC_GetPCSData():PGSPC_W_NO_CONFIG_VALUE:76803
No configuration value exists for logical

PGS_PC_GetConfigData():PGSPC_W_NO_CONFIG_FOR_ID:76810
The Product ID does not contain a configuration value. Problematic ID is 600002.

/home/seadas/ocssw/src/geogen_modis/GEO_locate_one_granule.c, GEO_locate_one_granule():MODIS_E_GEO:288779784
Mon Jul  9 16:07:33 2018
Error returned by function GEO_locate_one_scan(0)

PGS_DEM_GetPoint():PGSDEM_E_CANNOT_ACCESS_DATA:118273
Cannot access data... pntLatitude (22.566389) and pntLongitude (-999.000000) are not valid geographic positions for this resolution.

/home/seadas/ocssw/src/geogen_modis/GEO_locate_one_scan.c, GEO_locate_one_scan():MODIS_E_GEO:288779784
Mon Jul  9 16:07:33 2018
Error returned by function GEO_landsea_mask(2709, 20) failed.

gnwiii
Posts: 713
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:51 pm America/New_York
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 1 time

modis_geogen errors

by gnwiii » Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:32 am America/New_York

The references to files in the src directory refer to the program source files used to build the binaries, and are part of the error message.   Messages that
refer to "ocssw/run" are likely from a seadas 7.4 or earlier configuration.   You should look for an old ocssw directory and also make sure there aren't old setting of OCSSW environment variables in your startup scripts (usually ~/.profile, ~/.bash_profile, or ~/.bashrc).   You can also try (in a terminal):

$ env | grep 'ocssw/run'
$ which modis_GEO.py
(note that the '$' is the final character of the shell prompt and is typed by the system.  It is not part of the command you need to enter).

gfireman
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:59 pm America/New_York
Answers: 0

modis_geogen errors

by gfireman » Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:01 am America/New_York

Kim,

Your first example references an old build, from April 2016:
/data3/swdev/V2016.2/build/src/geogen_modis/GEO_location_main.c, main():MODIS_U_GEO_BEGIN:288778279
Seed file: 6.2 Running MOD_PR03 MODIS Geolocation main() 6.2 compiled on Apr 26 2016 at 15:06:00 using makefile 1.1


Your second example looks like a v7.5 build, from May 2018:
home/seadas/ocssw/src/geogen_modis/GEO_location_main.c, main():MODIS_U_GEO_BEGIN:288778279
Seed file: 6.2 Running MOD_PR03 MODIS Geolocation main() 6.2 compiled on May 31 2018 at 12:44:51 using makefile 1.1

The configuration may have been corrected, but you should check as George suggested.

The "PGS_DEM_GetPoint" error from your second example may indicate that your granule contains bad scans, or that the granule was taken during a maneuver.  Data outages and maneuver times are listed here: https://modaps.modaps.eosdis.nasa.gov/services/production/outages_aqua.html

khyde
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:01 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

modis_geogen errors

by khyde » Tue Jul 10, 2018 3:37 pm America/New_York

Thank you for the help. 

I finally figured out that one of my servers was still using an older version of SeaDAS, which explains why some files processed successfully and others didn't when I was running a large batch of files on multiple servers.

Thanks again,
Kim

Post Reply