Python script to read and visualize HDF CALIPSO files

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
benhurmp
Answers: 0

Python script to read and visualize HDF CALIPSO files

by benhurmp » Thu Feb 25, 2021 3:48 pm America/New_York

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to open CALIPSO hdf files and analyze the Vertical Feature Mask of them, and to do this I want to plot (via Python) a vertical profile of the data (with the Feature Type flags). I found the Compreensive Examples site:

https://www.hdfeos.org/zoo/index_openLaRC_Examples.php

But with the python scripts from there I can only plot the vertical profile of a single Feature Type, and it's a little bit confuse (I am studying to understand beter the data and how to handle with them) to adapt to what I need.

How can I make a full vertical Feature Type plot? I'm trying to do it, but it has been difficult. Thank you very much!

(OBS.: Here is an example of hdf file I'm using: CAL_LID_L2_VFM-Standard-V4-20.2006-06-13T04-54-47ZN.hdf)

Tags:

ASDC - rbeck

Re: Python script to read and visualize HDF CALIPSO files

by ASDC - rbeck » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:14 am America/New_York

Dear Ben-hur Martins,

Thank you for your interest in HDF CALIPSO files. I have reached out to our CALIPSO SME. We should have an answer for you soon.

ASDC - rbeck

by ASDC - rbeck » Wed Mar 03, 2021 5:03 pm America/New_York

Dear Ben-Hur Martins,

I have received the following information from our subject matter expert:

The sample code at hdfeos.org is tailored to only plot a single feature type; type=2(cloud).

# Extract Feature Type only (1-3 bits) through bitmask.
data = data & 7
……

# Focus on cloud (=2) data only.
data[data > 2] = 0;
data[data < 2] = 0;
data[data == 2] = 1;

Hopefully this information will help you. If you need further assistance please let us know.

ASDC - joseph.f.koch
User Services
User Services
Answers: 2

by ASDC - joseph.f.koch » Wed Mar 03, 2021 11:38 pm America/New_York