Change default configuration for l2gen not working

Please enter here to ask a question about any NASA Science related topics!
alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Fri Sep 10, 2021 12:49 pm America/New_York

Hello,
I followed the SeaDAS-OCSSW Client Server Configuration tutorial to install OCSSW on WSL1. OCSSW can run successfully, and I could process MODIS L1A to L2 if I use the default configuration. But if I change the processing options of l2gen (for example, I want to generate a MODIS L1C to do a C2RCC later), it gives me a error.
I installed all the packages (./install_ocssw --install_dir $HOME/ocssw --tag V2021.2 --all ).

Before I started the Seadas on windows10 I run:

$ export OCSSWROOT=~/ocssw
$ source $OCSSWROOT/OCSSW_bash.env

and

$ java -Xmx4G -jar seadas-ocsswserver.jar ocsswserver.config

On the seadasClientServerShared folder at WSL1 environment.

I'm using the GUI on SeaDas-windows10.

To generate MODIS L1C I did:

ifile=A2021243165500.L1B_LAC.x.hdf
geofile=A2021243165500.GEO.x.hdf
ofile=A2021243165500.L1C.nc
suite=OC
l2prod=latitude longitude polcor_nnn rhot_nnn sena senz sola solz
gain=[1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0]
atmocor=off

The error is:
execution exception: java.io.IOException: l2gen failed with exit code 1.
Check log for more details.
-E- clo_readString: unknown option "polcor_nnn" from command line

The same happened if I just want to change some default options for L2, for example:

ifile=A2021243165500.L1B_LAC.x.hdf
geofile=A2021243165500.GEO.x.hdf
ofile=A2021243165500.L2_LAC_OC.x.hdf
suite=OC
l2prod=Lt Lt_nnn Rrs_vvv angstrom chlor_a fsol rhot_nnn solz solz_nnn

Error:
execution exception: java.io.IOException: l2gen failed with exit code 1.
Check log for more details.
-E- clo_readString: unknown option "Lt_nnn" from command line

Could anyone help me?
Thanks

Tags:

alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:11 pm America/New_York

I found that if I change directly the parameters at the msl12_defaults_OC.par it works...
But I don't understand why it is not possible to change using the GUI.

OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:42 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02 » Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:25 pm America/New_York

I am not sure it's a good idea to modify msl12_defaults_OC.par.

To generate MODIS L1C, replace
l2prod=latitude longitude polcor_nnn rhot_nnn sena senz sola solz

with
l2prod=latitude longitude sena senz sola rhot_vvv rhot_748 rhot_859 rhot_869 rhot_1240 rhot_1640 rhot_2130 polcor_vvv polcor_748 polcor_859 polcor_869 polcor_1240 polcor_1640 polcor_2130

on your l2gen GUI Main tab

To change some default options for L2 as you intended, replace
l2prod=Lt Lt_nnn Rrs_vvv angstrom chlor_a fsol rhot_nnn solz solz_nnn

with
l2prod=Lt Rrs_vvv angstrom chlor_a rhot_vvv rhot_748 rhot_859 rhot_869 rhot_1240 rhot_1640 rhot_2130 solz

on your l2gen GUI Main tab

alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:12 pm America/New_York

Hello, thanks for your help.
But it is still not working. If I select the option "show defaults" in the l2gen GUI Main tab, change the l2prod according to your suggestion to generate L1C and select "apply", immediately goes back to the default configuration. If I don't select the default configuration, and only add:

l2prod=latitude longitude sena senz sola rhot_vvv rhot_748 rhot_859 rhot_869 rhot_1240 rhot_1640 rhot_2130 polcor_vvv polcor_748 polcor_859 polcor_869 polcor_1240 polcor_1640 polcor_2130

Or if I go manual and select one by one, and then select apply, it saves the new configuration but when I run it is still give me the error:

execution exception: java.io.IOException: l2gen failed with exit code 1.

When I modify the msl12_defaults_OC.par and add the parameters that I need, it works...

Looks like it is some sort of miscommunication between the seadas and ocssw...
Attachments
error_seadas1.png
error_seadas1.png (52.06 KiB) Not viewed yet
error_seadas2.png
error_seadas2.png (22.33 KiB) Not viewed yet

OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:42 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02 » Tue Sep 14, 2021 3:26 pm America/New_York

In the screenshot, it seems that you have
#l2prod=l2prod=latitude longitude sena senz sola rhot_vvv rhot_748 rhot_859 rhot_869 rhot_1240 rhot_1640 rhot_2130 polcor_vvv polcor_748 polcor_859 polcor_869 polcor_1240 polcor_1640 polcor_2130

# at the beginning of the line will cause the whole "l2prod= " line be ignored.

You should have
l2prod=latitude longitude sena senz sola rhot_vvv rhot_748 rhot_859 rhot_869 rhot_1240 rhot_1640 rhot_2130 polcor_vvv polcor_748 polcor_859 polcor_869 polcor_1240 polcor_1640 polcor_2130
instead

When you select apply, SeaDAS checks your selection for any illegal products. It's a bug that it does not allow NIR bands right now. And we are trying to fix it.

The error of "-E- clo_readString: " is complaining the illegal products in your "l2prod= " line.

alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Wed Sep 15, 2021 9:11 am America/New_York

Hello,
Yes, you are right, I was trying with '#' and without '#' to see if I could get some results...
But I'm having the same error in either way.
Please, see attached.
Attachments
error_seadas4.png
error_seadas4.png (22.05 KiB) Not viewed yet
error_seadas3.png
error_seadas3.png (212.77 KiB) Not viewed yet

alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Wed Sep 15, 2021 1:39 pm America/New_York

I was looking if I could find another error that could help me understand what is happening...
If I go to the Seadas/System Information on the GUI (windows10) it is showing me that:

"Main Application Platform:
Application Version: SeaDAS 8.1.0
Installation Directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS
Data Directory: C:\Users\aline\.seadas8
Configuration: C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\etc\snap.properties
WARNING!! File 'C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\etc\snap.properties' does not exist
Configuration2: C:\Users\aline\.seadas8\etc\snap.properties
VM Configuration: C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\bin\pconvert.vmoptions
WARNING!! File 'C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\bin\pconvert.vmoptions' does not exist
VM Configuration (gpt): C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\bin\gpt.vmoptions
WARNING!! File 'C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaDAS\bin\gpt.vmoptions' does not exist
Desktop Specification Version: 8.0.3
Engine Specification Version: 8.0.3
JRE: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 1.8.0_201-b09
JVM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM by Oracle Corporation
Memory: 3641 MiB

OCSSWROOT (Java Env): null

Python3 Directory:
/usr/bin/python3

SeaDAS Toolbox:
SeaDAS Toolbox Specification Version: 1.1.0
Configuration: C:\Users\aline\.seadas8\etc\seadas.properties
OCSSW Root Directory: /home/alinedmv/ocssw
WARNING!! Directory '/home/alinedmv/ocssw' does not exist
OCSSW Log Directory: C:\Users\aline\seadasClientServerShared
OCSSW Location: virtualMachine
Environment {$OCSSWROOT} (external): null

-----------------------------------------------

NASA Science Processing (OCSSW):
Warning! Processers not installed

General System and Software:
Operating System: Windows 10 10.0
Java Version: 1.8.0_201"

Although it is saying that:

'WARNING!! Directory '/home/alinedmv/ocssw' does not exist'
and
'NASA Science Processing (OCSSW):
Warning! Processers not installed '

The folder ocssw does exist and the processers were installed... I think that maybe it is looking in the wrong folder? But it is rare because the OCSSW is enable to use on SeaDas.
Attachments
error_seadas5.png
error_seadas5.png (88.31 KiB) Not viewed yet

OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:42 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 3:49 pm America/New_York

Does /home/alinedmv/ocssw exist?

When your OCSSWROOT is not defined in WINDOWS, it causes "SeaDAS/System Info" to print out some inaccurate info. It probably should not affect your OCSSW processing, for you're able to run l2gen with default configuration.

For the unsuccessful l2gen run (when you try to change the processing options), can you find the most recent l2gen-tmpParFile*.par in the same directory with A2021243165500.L1B_LAC.x.hdf, and copy and paste the contents of the par file (l2gen-tmpParFile*.par) here?

alineval
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:12 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by alineval » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:39 am America/New_York

Hello,

/home/alinedmv/ocssw exists on my wsl1 using ubuntu (see print attached).

How can I define OCSSWROOT on my windows?

Here is the l2gen-tmpParFile-test.par that you asked:


# PRIMARY INPUT OUTPUT FIELDS
ifile=C:\Users\aline\OneDrive\Aline\2021_Sargassum\20210901\MODIS\requested_files\A2021243165500.L1B_LAC.x.hdf
geofile=C:\Users\aline\OneDrive\Aline\2021_Sargassum\20210901\MODIS\requested_files\A2021243165500.GEO.x.hdf
ofile=C:\Users\aline\OneDrive\Aline\2021_Sargassum\20210901\MODIS\requested_files\A2021243165500.L2_LAC_OC.x.hdf

# SUITE
suite=OC

# PRODUCTS
l2prod=Es_nnn Kd_490 Rrs_vvv angstrom aot_869 chlor_a flh ipar nflh par pic poc

# ANCILLARY INPUTS Default = climatology (select 'Get Ancillary' to download ancillary files)
icefile=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N202124300_SEAICE_NSIDC_24h.hdf
met1=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N202124312_MET_NCEPR2_6h.hdf
met2=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N202124318_MET_NCEPR2_6h.hdf
met3=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N202124318_MET_NCEPR2_6h.hdf
ozone1=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N202124300_O3_AURAOMI_24h.hdf
ozone2=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/244/N202124400_O3_AURAOMI_24h.hdf
ozone3=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/244/N202124400_O3_AURAOMI_24h.hdf
sstfile=/home/alinedmv/ocssw/var/anc/2021/243/N2021243_SST_OIV2AV_24h.nc
Attachments
error_seadas6.png
error_seadas6.png (13.01 KiB) Not viewed yet

OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:42 pm America/New_York

Re: Change default configuration for l2gen not working

by OB SeaDAS - xuanyang02 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 2:18 pm America/New_York

Don't worry about the output of SeaDAS/System Info for now. It needs work with WINDOWS system.

Can you do

Code: Select all

l2gen par=l2gen-tmpParFile-test.par
on the command line?

Post Reply