Modis L1A Extract: Error Locating Pixel/Line Range

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
Post Reply
bigelowtek
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 12:07 pm America/New_York
Answers: 0

Modis L1A Extract: Error Locating Pixel/Line Range

by bigelowtek » Fri Sep 02, 2022 11:12 am America/New_York

Hello. I am attempting to process a modis-aqua L1A file to L2. I have successfully run modis_GEO and generated the .GEO file. Next, I run modis_L1A_extract, and the script throws the following error: "Error locating pixel/line range to extract."

This is wrapped into a larger workflow that downloads and batch processes Seawifs, Aqua, Terra, and Viirs L1A files to L2. All of the Aqua and Terra files are throwing the same pixel/line range error. The relevant line of code is:

modis_L1A_extract --verbose $L1Afile --geofile=$geofile -w -71 -s 42 -e -66 -n 45 -o $L1Asubfile --extract_geo=$geosubfile

An example L1A file I am using is: A2002191103000.L1A_LAC.
I am using the ocssw tag R2022.10.

Any insight into how to resolve the error is appreciated. Thank you.

Tags:

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1

Re: Modis L1A Extract: Error Locating Pixel/Line Range

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Fri Sep 02, 2022 1:02 pm America/New_York

The scene you specified does not cover the region of interest you are trying to extract:

https://oceancolor.gsfc.nasa.gov/cgi/browse.pl?file=A2002191103000.L1A_LAC

So...the code is correct in reporting that it cannot find the pixel/line range

Sean

bigelowtek
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 12:07 pm America/New_York
Answers: 0

Re: Modis L1A Extract: Error Locating Pixel/Line Range

by bigelowtek » Tue Sep 06, 2022 9:07 am America/New_York

I must have made a mistake upstream in my workflow. Thank you.

Post Reply