MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
Post Reply
cbgoettingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2024 8:52 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by cbgoettingen » Wed Mar 13, 2024 9:07 am America/New_York

Hello!

I am trying to download MCD19A3D v061 files for the tile h16v07. I tried to download a few before downloading a lot, and I can only see 2 layers NBAR_250m_1 and NBAR_250m_2 when I read the file. Is the NDVI only for some tiles and for a shorter time frame? I downloaded files from 14th July 2005, 21st Nov 2023 and one from early march and all were the same.

Filters:

LP DAAC - lien
User Services
User Services
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:51 am America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by LP DAAC - lien » Wed Mar 13, 2024 10:27 am America/New_York

Hello,
All 11 SDS layers should be in each HDF file, can you tell me what method you used to download the data and what GIS software you are using? In the meantime I will download a couple of those tiles and take a look
Thanks,
Brett

cbgoettingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2024 8:52 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by cbgoettingen » Thu Mar 14, 2024 10:11 am America/New_York

Hello!

I used the direct download from EARTHDATA Search as it was just a few files. I am viewing them with the package terra in R. It reads the correct number of layers on tiles from MOD13Q1.

Best,
CB

LP DAAC - lien
User Services
User Services
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:51 am America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by LP DAAC - lien » Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:40 am America/New_York

Hi CB,
Yes, I am getting the same results you are. First I thought OK, the algorithm detected snow so the NDVI_Gap Filled was not produced. However 16/7 is along the coast and in the tropics so that would not be right. We'll investigate further and let you know as soon as we here anything from the developers.
Thanks,
Brett

cbgoettingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2024 8:52 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by cbgoettingen » Sat Mar 16, 2024 12:39 pm America/New_York

Dear Brett,

Thank you!!

Best,
CB

LP DAAC - lien
User Services
User Services
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:51 am America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by LP DAAC - lien » Fri Mar 22, 2024 3:24 pm America/New_York

Hi CB,
Sorry for the run around on this, I was looking in the wrong area too. There should be a suite of 1km layers, and I am wondering if your R package is not seeing them. There should be 10 1km fields. I opened one of those up in HDFView and attached a screen capture of all the fields. Please let me know if it can not see them.
Thanks,
Brett
MCD19A3_layers.PNG
MCD19A3_layers.PNG (51.07 KiB) Not viewed yet

cbgoettingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2024 8:52 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by cbgoettingen » Fri Apr 05, 2024 10:07 am America/New_York

Dear Brett,

Thank you so much. I downloaded a file and could see the different layers in HDF viewer. Thanks for the tip! (I had replied yesterday but not sure if it went through so apologies if this is a repeat post.) I wanted to also add that now the MCD19A3D series is no more seen in the EarthData search somehow? Been trying since yesterday.

Best,
CB

LP DAAC - lien
User Services
User Services
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:51 am America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by LP DAAC - lien » Thu Apr 11, 2024 10:03 am America/New_York

Hi CB,
Sorry about that, for some reason the MCD19 temporarily fell off the Earthdata Search, all but the NRT MCD19 data. That has since been resolved. Please try it again and let me know if it still is being a pain.
Thanks,
Brett

cbgoettingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2024 8:52 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

Re: MCD19A3D has only 2 layers with NBAR when downloaded

by cbgoettingen » Mon Apr 22, 2024 5:55 am America/New_York

Dear Brett,

Thank you so much! It is back up nicely now. Thank you for all your help.

Best,
Chaiti

Post Reply