impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
Post Reply
jstum
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:54 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by jstum » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:19 am America/New_York

Hello,

I tried this morning to modify my two existing subscriptions (1661 and 1688) and also create new ones, but although a message "subscription modified successfully" is returned, nothing changes. Could you please have a look at it ?

Thanks,

Jacques

Tags:

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:43 pm America/New_York

Jacques,

I've verified the ability to edit and create subscriptions. 
Can you explain what you were trying to modify?

Sean

jstum
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:54 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by jstum » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:58 am America/New_York

Sean,

Example 1 : extend my actual subscription 1661 westwards by 10°
action 1 : login
action 2 : view my subscriptions
action 3 : click on subscription 1661
action 4 : setting W=-50 below the world map (remark : the western limit of my subscription is correctly moved on the world map, but is not moved on the zoomed map on the right)
action 5 : click below on "submit edits" : returned message is "subscription modified successfully"
action 6 : logout
action 7 : repeat actions 1,2,3 : the modification has not been taken into account, even several hours after

Jacques

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:29 am America/New_York

Jacques,
The edits would happen immediately, if you don't see the change with the submit, then it didn't happen (despite the lies spread about on the interwebs :eek:).
I see the same behavior, when trying to update the region from the subscription edit page.  I'll point out the issue to the developer.

In the meantime, if you select the region from "View My Regions" or click on the region name in the "View My Subscriptions" table, you are
presented with a region editor.  From there you can edit the region successfully. 

Sean

jstum
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:54 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by jstum » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:17 am America/New_York

Sean,
Thank you for your suggestion with "View my Regions", unfortunately, I did not give a region name to my subscriptions, so they don't appear there. I'll thus wait for the bug correction.
I also mentioned that my attempts to create new subscriptions also failed :
action 1 : click on "Create new data subscriptions"
action 2 : define the area (N30,S15,W-100,E-80, Gulf of Mexico)
action 3 : define the data : MODIS-Aqua, Level1, day
action 4 : remove the mapped images by disabling the chlorophyll and SST, coastline...
action 5 : review settings, and create subscription

The message returned is "subscription created successfully", but nothing new with my subscriptions.

Jacques

jstum
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:54 am America/New_York
Answers: 0

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by jstum » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:52 am America/New_York

Hello,
Any news concerning my last post ?
Is it a bug on your side or a misuse on my side ?

Thanks
Jacques

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1358
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1

impossible to set up new subscriptions or modify existing ones

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:48 pm America/New_York

A little of both :grin:

It turns out there was a permission issue affecting the update of non-extracted subscription region information.   'Tis a rather longish (and likely boring) story, but the extracted and non-extracted subscriptions (currently) do not use the same region information.    That issue was resolved (the bug, not the region info difference), so you should be able to modify the region for you non-extracted subscriptions.

As for creating new subscriptions, you need to select at least one of the non- or extracted subscription info.  By unchecking the boxes under the extracted subscription section and not selecting one of the check boxes in the non-extracted section, your request was for effectively nothing.  We'll update the script to provide a more obvious "user input error" message.

Sean

Post Reply