seadas -idl license

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
osrani
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:11 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by osrani » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:13 pm America/New_York

I am newbie to Seadas.I have installed seadas 7.5.1 GUI ,I want to work on seadas  by command mode ,so I installed IDL. Is License is necessary for IDL to work in command mode..

Tags:

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1279
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1

seadas -idl license

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:53 pm America/New_York

You don't need IDL.  SeaDAS has not required IDL since prior to version 7.0

Sean

osrani
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:11 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by osrani » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:59 am America/New_York

But I have installed seaDAS 7.5 in linux OS with ubuntu 18.04. how to open seadas 7.5.1 in command mode through terminal
I gave command as seadas em  in terminal .It gave msg as:
seadas: command not found

gnwiii
Posts: 665
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:51 pm America/New_York
Answers: 2

seadas -idl license

by gnwiii » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:48 am America/New_York

You appear to be using outdated documentation.  Have a look at the current installation documention, but note that this also includes processing software that you may not need. The -em option was for SeaDAS pre-7 versions that used an IDL GUI and is no longer used.   To run the SeaDAS 7 GUI from a terminal, you must either add the SeaDAS 7 bin directory to the PATH environment variable (consult an introduction to the linux command-line for details) or give a the executable filename (e.g., seadas) with the path (e.g., $SEADASPATH/bin/seadas).

Since you appear to be new to the linux/bash command-line, you will find it helpful to spend a few hours getting comfortable with the basic command-line procedures used in the above tutorial.   Linux Command is a good starting point, but there are many good resources available in English and many other languages if you are not comfortable with English documentation.

gnwiii
Posts: 665
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:51 pm America/New_York
Answers: 2

seadas -idl license

by gnwiii » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:49 am America/New_York

You appear to be using outdated documentation.  Have a look at the current installation documention, but note that this also includes processing software that you may not need. The -em option was for SeaDAS pre-7 versions that used an IDL GUI and is no longer used.   To run the SeaDAS 7 GUI from a terminal, you must either add the SeaDAS 7 bin directory to the PATH environment variable (consult an introduction to the linux command-line for details) or give a the executable filename (e.g., seadas) with the path (e.g., $SEADASPATH/bin/seadas).

Since you appear to be new to the linux/bash command-line, you will find it helpful to spend a few hours getting comfortable with the basic command-line procedures used in the above tutorial.   Linux Command is a good starting point, but there are many good resources available in English and many other languages if you are not comfortable with English documentation.

OB SeaDAS - dshea
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:25 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by OB SeaDAS - dshea » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:50 am America/New_York

To install and setup the command line programs read the "SeaDAS Processing Programs" and the "Command Line Configuration" sections of this web page.

https://seadas.gsfc.nasa.gov/downloads/

don

osrani
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:11 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by osrani » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:45 pm America/New_York

Thankyou for the responses don and gnwii.
yes I followed the procedure given by don and I saw the linux commands.
I opened seadas in termainal and gave l2gen command as below

itra@itra-PC:~/seadas-7.5.1/bin$ seadas
l2gen ifile=/home/itra/Data/sentinel-2/S2B_MSIL1C_20181005T044659_N0206_R076_T45QUB_20181006T091548.SAFE/manifest.safe ofile=/home/itra/Data/seadas_outputs/Sentinel2_op/test_msi.L2

no processing ..no output. Am I missing anything in this command..

OB SeaDAS - dshea
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:25 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by OB SeaDAS - dshea » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:07 pm America/New_York

The command should be:

itra@itra-PC:~/seadas-7.5.1/bin$  ./l2gen ifile=/home/itra/Data/sentinel-2/S2B_MSIL1C_20181005T044659_N0206_R076_T45QUB_20181006T091548.SAFE/manifest.safe ofile=/home/itra/Data/seadas_outputs/Sentinel2_op/test_msi.L2


Note: without "seadas"

don

OB SeaDAS - dshea
Subject Matter Expert
Subject Matter Expert
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:25 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by OB SeaDAS - dshea » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:14 pm America/New_York

I am assuming that you installed the data files for Sentinel 2B.  If not, use this command:


$ install_ocssw.py --msis2b


don

osrani
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:11 am America/New_York

seadas -idl license

by osrani » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:20 pm America/New_York

don
I already installed that one .

Post Reply