expired browse state

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
fields
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:19 pm America/New_York

expired browse state

by fields » Thu Jun 04, 2020 4:26 pm America/New_York

IP xx.xxx.xx.xx

Tags:

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1314
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 1 time

expired browse state

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:50 am America/New_York

That one isn't showing up in the logs...Got another? Perhaps IPv6?

fields
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:19 pm America/New_York

expired browse state

by fields » Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:21 am America/New_York

IVp6 is 2600:8802:5602:0d00:cdcc:f9d6:df7f:9bec
I understand my ISP uses DHCP, so maybe it has been changing.  Are past IPs (used) stored somewhere.

fields
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:19 pm America/New_York

expired browse state

by fields » Fri Jun 05, 2020 11:38 am America/New_York

ok it appears my IPv6 changes more often than my IPv4 one.  now it is
2600:8802:5602:d00:19a5:ab2f:b33a:ca36

Where might old IPs be stored?  I see my browser history, but it just shows URLs.  I will buy the IT people here.

OB.DAAC - SeanBailey
User Services
User Services
Posts: 1314
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:15 pm America/New_York
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 1 time

expired browse state

by OB.DAAC - SeanBailey » Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:25 pm America/New_York

We don't store IPs, except as they appear in our logs - which eventually get tossed.  If your IP address is changing and has the possibility of changing within a session, well that could explain the problem as it would be possible for a new IP showing up on a different backend server here - one that doesn't have the state from your query.

Sean

fields
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:19 pm America/New_York

expired browse state

by fields » Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:37 pm America/New_York

I do normally do most of my ordering from the office, where my IP is  static.  I'll check the IPV6 before and after getting the message, to suss this out. 

Thanks for the help.

Post Reply