Page 1 of 1

VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:39 pm America/New_York
by lschwize
VIIRS Testing in QGIS (version 3.20.3)
Data Products: Surface Reflectance (VNP09A1, VNP09H1, VNP09CMG), Vegetation Indices (VNP13A1)
Issue: CRS (Unknown/Undefined) and overall Projection errors, unable to Assign or Warp (Reproject)
Background: Seems to be specific to HDF5 via QGIS (NetCDF seems to be ok, and both files ok in ArcGIS Pro). I'm using a windows machine but there are known HDF5 issues with Mac, confirmed by QGIS: https://github.com/qgis/QGIS/issues/45416
Workflow: Add Raster Layer (tested with Add Mesh Layer and receive error “Invalid Data Source / Unrecognized Data Source”). Assign Projection fails. Warp (Reproject) fails. Is there a preferred workaround?

Re: VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 2:32 pm America/New_York
by LP DAAC - jwilson
We will forward your inquiry to our Subject Matter Expert for assistance.
Thank you,
Janice

Re: VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 2:34 pm America/New_York
by g.studer.ellis
I too am having an issue with VIIRS data is QGIS.

Problem:
Importing ANY VIIRS .h5 file causes QGIS to crash.
Importing SOME VIIRS .nc files fails. Specifically it will throw an import error.
Those VIIRS .nc files which do load do not contain a CRS and cannot be projected.

Data:
Instrument Satellite Product File Type QGIS Raster QGIS Mesh CRS Assigned Notes
VIIRS SNPP VIIRS/NPP Surface Reflectance Daily L2G .h5 CRASH CRASH
VIIRS JPSS Global Binned Chlorophyll (CHL) .nc ERROR ERROR N/A Invalid Layer, Invlaid Data Source
VIIRS JPSS Global Binned Chlorophyll (CHL) - NRT Data .nc ERROR ERROR N/A Invalid Layer, Invlaid Data Source
VIIRS JPSS Global Mapped Chlorophyll (CHL) .nc YES ERROR NO
VIIRS JPSS Global Mapped Chlorophyll (CHL) - NRT Data .nc YES ERROR NO
VIIRS SNPP Global Binned Chlorophyll (CHL) .nc ERROR ERROR N/A Invalid Layer, Invlaid Data Source
VIIRS SNPP Global Mapped Chlorophyll (CHL) .nc YES ERROR NO

Computer/Hardware:
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)
Processor: 2.6 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Graphics (Integrated): Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
GPU: AMD Radeon Pro 5500M
Operating System: macOS Big Sur 11.6
QGIS Install: Official All-in-one signed installer: QGIS macOS Installer Version 3.16 Long Term Release
QGIS Version: QGIS-LTR V 3.16.13-Hannover

Requested Solution:
Functionality in QGIS

Re: VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2021 7:05 am America/New_York
by lien
Hello,
From what I have found out QGIS does not work well with the HDF format. That has been an issue since 2000 and MODIS with many software packages. They seemed to have issues recognizing the geolocation information with the HDF files. Most of the time I change the format from a HDF to A Geotiff. I haven't had a lot of experience with QGIS but with other pakages I use it works well. NASA Earthdata has the HEG tool that can do this: https://hdfeos.org/software/heg.php
Thanks,
Brett

Re: VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2021 9:06 am America/New_York
by lschwize
Thanks Brett. I looked into that option as well but noted on the site: "It does not support HDF-EOS5 file." so I didn't think it would work with some of the new products available. I can give it a shot though!

Re: VIIRS LP Products in QGIS

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2021 3:22 pm America/New_York
by lien
Also, please check out our AppEEARS tool if you get a chance: https://lpdaac.usgs.gov/tools/appeears/
It can do so much of the preprocessing, like reproject, reformat, spectral and aerial subsetting, it also outputs spreadsheets and charts and incorporates the QA information also. It definitely works with HDF 5. The one issue though it does not work with CMG data yet.
Thanks, Brett