Getting data for a limited area

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
thomaslandry
Answers: 0

Getting data for a limited area

by thomaslandry » Sat Jun 24, 2023 1:38 am America/New_York

Hello, I am new to this database and I am trying to get air pollution data for some specific region (province of Quebec specifically, ideally daily data for about two decades would do for about a hundred locations top) but when I try to specify a certain area to constrain my search of data to download in the Earthdata search engine, it still tells me that my download will be about 4 TB and that does not seem to change when I change either the size of the area I'm looking at or when I point to a specific location (for example, the center of Montreal). There must be something I'm missing. Any guidance or help would be welcome, so far my readings have not been very helpful and my other sources of data seem to be of poor quality so far.

Tags:

GES DISC - jimacker
User Services
User Services
Answers: 3

Re: Getting data for a limited area

by GES DISC - jimacker » Mon Jun 26, 2023 2:12 pm America/New_York

Thomas,

Hello. Though it might take some time, you could use our Giovanni system (https://giovanni.gsfc.nasa.gov/) and generate time-series for specific locations, which could then be downloaded as both an image and as CSV data. Giovanni accepts lat/lon coordinates for specific locations. There are several air quality variables available in the system.

The one caveat would be that the time-series will be constrained by the spatial resolution of the data. That means if you input two different lat/lon coordinates for different locations, but these locations are close enough that they would both be in the same grid cell of the data, then the time-series will be identical.