On annual summary data (FIRM MODIS)

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
fcctrain
Answers: 0

On annual summary data (FIRM MODIS)

by fcctrain » Wed Aug 02, 2023 5:38 am America/New_York

Hi FIRMS experts! I'm an extreme stat researcher and find your work impressive and would like to go deeper.

1. The archived FIRMS MODIS data (https://firms.modaps.eosdis.nasa.gov/country/) has columns 'brightness' and 'bright_t31'. May I assume both of them are temperatures in Kelvin measured by different wavelengths (4 or 11 um as in the paper)?
2. Would like to consult if the FRP data is mainly for comparison with background or can be individually used to quantify fire magnitude or energy release?
3. By document I presume an observation with confidence>=80 and type==0 can be taken as 'almost' a vegetation fire event?
4. BTW would suggest a readme.txt file with minimal column explanations to accompany your archived data. It should maximize the impact of your product and let it reachable to layman but interested users like me.

Thx & Regards.

Tags:

LANCE & FIRMS - ddavies
User Services
User Services

Re: On annual summary data (FIRM MODIS)

by LANCE & FIRMS - ddavies » Thu Aug 03, 2023 4:00 pm America/New_York

Hi - Thanks for your interest in FIRMS.

1. You are correct - the archived FIRMS MODIS data colums columns 'brightness' and 'bright_t31' are both temperatures in Kelvin measured by different wavelengths (4 or 11 um as in the paper). You can find out about the attributes here: https://www.earthdata.nasa.gov/learn/find-data/near-real-time/firms/mcd14dl-nrt#ed-firms-attributes

Bright_T31 = Brightness temperature 31 (Kelvin)
Channel 31 brightness temperature of the fire pixel measured in Kelvin.

Brightness = Brightness temperature 21 (Kelvin)
Channel 21/22 brightness temperature of the fire pixel measured in Kelvin.