VJ109_NRT is not georeferncing

Use this Forum to find information on, or ask a question about, NASA Earth Science data.
amacu
Answers: 0

VJ109_NRT is not georeferncing

by amacu » Fri Nov 17, 2023 6:05 pm America/New_York

Hello!

I'm new to satellite image processing. I am working with a collection of VJ109_NRT - JPPS1 images. It is a L2 VIIRS product. They come with an extension .nc.
I have read the proposed documentation (same for NPP and JPSS-1 products [https://viirsland.gsfc.nasa.gov/PDF/VIIRS_Surf_Refl_UserGuide_v2.0.pdf] and several articles trying to georeference data correctly. The data is supplied with coordinates that are explicitly specified in EPSG:4326 (as example GRingLatitude=-3.70198226, 0.3605142236, -20.11667824, -24.55309677). However, the guide [https://viirsland.gsfc.nasa.gov/PDF/VIIRS_Surf_Refl_UserGuide_v2.0.pdf] mentions that a sinusoidal coordinate system is used for georeferencing. So, I'm using point from boundary box (contained in metadata as GRingLatitude/GRingLongitude). My algorithm is following: I download the images -> get them from geotiff files -> translate the coordinates of the boundaryBox points into a sinusoidal coordinate system -> reproject the image in a sinusoidal system by points -> translate to EPSG:4326? If I use this algorithm, then the position of the objects in the images is very different from the real one. The same happens if I immediately reference to EPSG:4326 using a thin plate spline (TPS).

I use Python GDAL and it is desirable for me to find a solution using this technology. And I also use QGIS to check results (I've implemented above algorithm with QGIS but I've tried in python too and the results are the same).